Skip Navigation

Petra M. Udelhofen Memorial Fund

The Petra M. Udelhofen Memorial Fund was created in 2002 to honor the late Dr. Petra Udelhofen, an Assistant Research Professor in the Institute for Terrestrial and Planetary Atmospheres (ITPA) at the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences (SoMAS) and an Adjunct Assistant Professor of SoMAS. The Fund supports the Petra M. Udelhofen Memorial Scholarship , which is a $1000 cash scholarship awarded annually to an undergraduate entering his/her senior year of study in Atmospheric Sciences/Meteorology at Stony Brook University.

The Winners of the Petra M. Udelhofen Memorial Scholarship are listed on a plaque in the Endeavour Hall Lobby.

Petra M. Udelhofen 05/21/60 - 05/17/02

Petra M. Udelhofen
05/21/60 – 05/17/02


Dr. Udelhofen obtained her doctorate in Meteorology from the University of Cologne, Germany in 1990. Her research focused on long-term climate variations of the Earth’s atmospheric radiation fields. She interacted with a large number of scientists around the world in her career and is remembered as a remarkably generous and friendly colleague.

Petra came to Stony Brook in May 1999 as a Research Scientist working with Distinguished Professor Robert Cess on a NASA CERES project and with Professor and Dean Marvin Geller as the NASA SPARC data center scientist. Prior to that, Petra worked as a Research Associate at the University of Georgia from January 1998 to April 1999, as a Research Fellow of the Cooperative Research Center for Southern Hemisphere Meteorology in Melbourne, Australia from February 1995 to January 1998, as a Research Associate at the University of Washington from November 1991 to November 1994, and as a Research Associate at the GKSS Research Center at the Institute of Atmospheric Physics in Geesthacht, Germany from August 1990 to November 1991. During this time, Petra touched the lives of numerous people across several continents.

Dr. Udelhofen first-authored three research articles published in the most prominent atmospheric science journals, all of which made distinctive contributions to the world science community. These articles discussed the influence of tropical cloud systems on water vapor in the upper troposphere, of solar variability on the Earth’s cloud cover, and of clouds and ozone on surface UV radiation. This latter article remains a leading reference on this subject.

In addition to her research accomplishments, Dr. Udelhofen was a very active member of the ITPA faculty. She taught an undergraduate atmospheric science course and enthusiastically participated in all seminar programs, faculty forums, and other institutional activities. She established and served as the first volunteer editor of the electronic ITPA weekly newsletter. She maintained very close relationships with a large number of faculty, staff, and students. Dr. Udelhofen is warmly remembered by the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences and her numerous friends for her generosity, enthusiasm, friendship, and love of life.

Ways to Give

Gifts may be made by check, money order or credit card. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences/SBF. SoMAS also accepts MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover. To donate on-line, please click here. When you are donating to the Udelhofen Fund, please specify on the donation form by referencing account number # 363570.


The entire SoMAS community has participated in raising money for the Petra M. Udelhofen Memorial Fund through many fundraisers, including the annual Oktoberfest


Petra M. Udelhofen Memorial Scholarship Fund

For academic performance, research accomplishments, participation in student activities and service to the University and community.

  • 2003 Kathryn Seaver
  • 2004 Daniel Iannotti
  • 2005 Douglas Barnum
  • 2006 Amber Stubler
  • 2007 Katherin Rojowsky
  • 2008 Raema Obbie
  • 2009 Brandi Lyn Peters
  • 2010 Deborah Aller
  • 2011 Eda Charmane Gimenez
  • 2012 Danny Caputti
  • 2013 Michael Colbert
  • 2014 Breanna Zavadoff
  • 2015 Taylor Scott Mandelbaum
  • 2016 Nicole Casamassina
  • 2017 Matthew McDermott
  • 2018 Katherine McKeown
  • 2019 Skyler Graap & Anna Smith
  • 2020 Austin Reed
  • 2021 Julia Tetrault